1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Organization of the LDS Church


First Presidency; Presidents Thomas S. Monson, Henry B. Eyring, and Dieter F. Uchtdorf

First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; President Thomas S. Monson, President Henry B. Eyring, President Dieter F. Uchtdorf


The organizational structure of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the LDS Church) is the same as that which the Lord Jesus Christ organized during His life on earth. It's the same because Christ restored his church in these latter-days and has called living prophets and apostles. Other LDS Church leaders, auxiliaries, and its structure of communication are also explained in this article.

Church of Jesus Christ Restored:

Jesus Christ called a new prophet in this latter-days, a man named Joseph Smith, to whom He revealed His doctrine and gave His authority, called the priesthood, to act in His name. Christ directed Joseph to organize and restore His church. This is called the restoration, as Christ's church, authority, and gospel were restored (returned) to the earth. Joseph Smith's account of being called of God, including his vision of God the Father and Jesus Christ, can be read in Joseph Smith's History.

To learn more about the restoration of Christ's church please see the article, "What Do Mormons Believe?"

Living Prophets and Apostles:

Christ leads His church today through living prophets. The President of the LDS Church and his two counselors are called the First Presidency and they are assisted by the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. These 15 men are all apostles, prophets, seers, revelators, and special witnesses of Jesus Christ. They are:

  • 12 Apostles
  • Boyd K. Packer
  • L. Tom Perry
  • Russell M. Nelson
  • Dallin H. Oaks
  • M. Russell Ballard
  • Richard G. Scott
  • Robert D. Hales
  • Jeffery R. Holland
  • David A. Bednar
  • Quentin L. Cook
  • D. Todd Christofferson
  • Neil L. Andersen


Other LDS Church Leaders:

The Seventies, consisting of Area Presidencies, are other LDS Church leaders that help the Twelve Apostles with their duties. They serve in different locations throughout the world while stake presidents, bishops, and branch presidents serve in the local communities where they live.

LDS Church Auxiliaries:

There are five auxiliaries (organizations) within the LDS Church, they are:

The men of the LDS Church are in quorums (or groups) of the priesthood. Richard G. Scott of the Quorum of the 12 Apostles said, "The fundamental role and purpose of the auxiliary organizations of the Church is to help 'plant and make grow... a testimony of [Jesus] Christ and of the Gospel.'" ("The Doctrinal Foundation of the Auxiliaries," Ensign, Aug 2005, 62–67)


Communication Structure:

The Lord Jesus Christ is at the head of this church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Communication in the LDS Church is structured in the following order:

  • Jesus Christ
  • First Presidency
  • Quorum of the Twelve Apostles
  • Area Presidencies
  • Stake Presidency
  • Bishop / Branch President
  • The Family (LDS Church Members)


Titles of LDS Church Members:

Learn how to address members of the LDS Church including its leaders in the article, "LDS Church Titles." Or find out how many Mormons there are worldwide.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.